Burna Boy, Ayra Starr Shut Out Of 2023 Soul Train Awards


Nigerian music stars Burna Boy and Ayra Starr looked forward to grabbing some awards at the 2023 Soul Train Awards but that would not happen as they missed out in all the categories they were nominated for.


Despite receiving four (4) nominations, Burna Boy missed out on all these nominations to other contenders.


Ayra Starr who received a nomination for Best New Artist also lost out to Coco Jones.


Hosted by Keke Palmer, the 2023 Soul Train Awards premiered Sunday, Nov. 26, at 8 p.m. ET/PT on BET and BET Her.


The 2023 Soul Train Awards saw SZA lead the night taking home the most trophies including Best R&B/Soul Female Artist, Album of the Year, Song of the Year and The Ashford and Simpson Songwriter’s Award.


Usher nabbed three trophies in category wins for Best R&B/Soul Male Artist, Certified Soul Award, and Best Collaboration with Summer Walker and 21 Savage for “Good Good.” Victoria Monét won two awards in the Best Dance Performance and Video of The Year categories.


Janelle Monáe took the Spirit of Soul Award while T-Pain was honored with the Legend Award.


Check out all the winners of the night in the list posted below.

Soul Train Awards 2023 Winners List

Best New Artist

Coco Jones

Certified Soul Award


Best R&B / Soul Female Artist


Best R&B / Soul Male Artist


Best Gospel / Inspirational Award

All Things Kirk Franklin

Song of the Year


Album of the Year


The Ashford and Simpson Songwriter’s Award


Best Dance Performance

“On My mama”
Victoria Monét

Best Collaboration

“Good Good”
Usher, Summer Walker, 21 Savage

Best Group

Maverick City Music

Video of the Year

“On My Mama”
Victoria Monét